Cast

How do i cast a value to another blueprint without a triggerbox that have the “other actor” thing?

Are you asking how to access a value from one blueprint in another blueprint?

Yes, im kinda new to this stuff so yeah …

No worries! We hope you have an easy time getting into Unreal.

Here’s the reference on BP interfaces: https://docs.unrealengine.com/latest/INT/Engine/Blueprints/UserGuide/Types/Interface/UsingInterfaces/index.html

And a youtube tutorial on them: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=HtB_00h2Ykw

Best of luck!

Not exactly sure what you’re asking, but I think what you’re looking for is an interface.

An interface is basically a layer placed on top of a blueprint that defines what functions are available. The purpose is multiple blueprints can implement the same interface, then when you wish to access it, you simply try to access that interface function.

Here’s an example. Let’s say you’re making an adventure game and there’s lots of objects in the world the player can interact with. So when the player presses “E”, you run a line trace to see what the player is looking at.

Now, in order to interact with the object, you could do

Character Blueprint:
Press e > --------- > Single Line Trace, Break Hit -------> Hit Actor
With a long series of branches to see if the actor is a light or a lever or a button or a door… it will get messy fast.

All of those objects (light, level, button, door) all have one thing in common: They can be triggered by the player. This is where an interface can come in handy.

If you right click in the content browser and create a new interface blueprint, you can call it something like “Interaction”. Add one function to the event graph, call it “Activate”. That’s it - the interface is done (unless you wish to make it more complex later).

Now you’d go to each one of your objects, let’s say the light for example, and in the blueprint properties, add the Interaction interface.