Cast to - a widget help

I’m brand new to UE4. I’ve been working with it for a few weeks now.
I’m trying to understand a basic concept. Cast To.
I get the over-all idea of it. The execution and why things fail seem odd to me.

When I Cast to, say, BasicWidget, and try to get a variable, it fails. I have to add Get All Widgets of Class, then pull off of Found Widgets and use GET. THEN I can cast to BasicWidget. Right?
It seems to even need to have BasicWidget listed under Widget Class.
I think you can make a variable reference to the widget and use that instead, but

Is there a second way to use Cast To BasicWidget that doesn’t mean it’s referring to the widget?
How can I use Cast To BasicWidget without filling that info in??

Do you add the widget to the viewport somewhere? Usually what I do is collecting most of the widgets in one layout (Widget Blueprint), and inside my Player Controller I use the Create Widget node to create the widget on startup, and then store the reference in a variable. Now I can cast to my player controller, get that variable, basically from everywhere. That’s how I access my widgets most of the times. If you want I can post a screenshot of my widget setup.

1 Like

So what you mean, I guess I didn’t explain I kinda know? In my pic it would be the 2nd example. (Which usually doesn’t work for me)
The bottom example. The Place a new Node
Can a different node be made other than the reference to the widget??
What are all the things that Object [Select Asset] can be when casting to a widget?

There is no such node to get a cast for a widget in UE. Here is a widget setup on the Player Controller, inside a function called CreateHUD. However, technically it is just a widget blueprint, not a HUD blueprint - used usually to help initialize the current game mode.