Cant Compile Project

i am new to Unreal Engine and i am using UE5 and the advancedsessions plugin i get this error when trying to compile. i have tried copying the plugins from the main directory over to the project and still gives error(seen a post about this but on UE4) this didnt work for me, i have no idea how to fix this any help would be appreciated.

UATHelper: Packaging (Windows): ERROR: Expecting to find a type to be declared in a module rules named ‘AdvancedSteamSessions’ in UE5Rules, Version=0.0.0.0, Culture=neutral, PublicKeyToken=null. This type must derive from the ‘ModuleRules’ type defined by Unreal Build Tool.
PackagingResults: Error: Expecting to find a type to be declared in a module rules named ‘AdvancedSteamSessions’ in UE5Rules, Version=0.0.0.0, Culture=neutral, PublicKeyToken=null. This type must derive from the ‘ModuleRules’ type defined by Unreal Build Tool.

I don’t have visual studio open for reference, but you might look into your header files and add those module names if they’re missing it’ll throw that error up.

1 Like

thanks for the help, but i am still unsure how to go about doing this. i have done this game in blueprints only and have zero coding experience. would i add these names to the build.cs?

Hi, you need to download the plugin from GitHub at
mordentral/AdvancedSessionsPlugin: Advanced Sessions Plugin for UE5 (github.com)

Then follow the instructions, given in
Installing and using plugins | Unreal Engine 4 Game Development Quick Start Guide (packtpub.com)

Basically, you go into your project add a plugins directory and copy into it the directories containing the plugins. When you open the project in Unreal Editor it asks if you want Visual Studio to rebuild plugins into the current engine. When successful you will see the plugins enabled.

so i did it this way and get the error “PackagingResults: Error: System.ArgumentException: An item with the same key has already been added. Key: AdvancedSessions”