Cannot build a project. Editor Freezes

I think it is important to describe this issue as fully as I can. I have working on it for more than a week. I have done everything from changing drivers to reinstalling Unreal. I am working on an online unreal course, I really like using Unreal and as I have been a C++ programmer for many years, it really is my choice over other game engines. But, it aint much use in its current state and I am beginning to feel to walk away and look into other technologies for my planned project. I am really hoping someone can help get this working, as it stands I really cannot use the unreal engine. The Editor always freezes when doing a Build or just building Lighting or Textures.

I am pretty certain that the build worked up to some point. I believe the problem may have started when I tried creating an empty project and selected to use ray tracing. Since then it has not worked, just keeps freezing ( I havent used ray tracing since). Even through complete reinstalls, deleting folders and removing keys in the registry.

I have tried creating differant default projects: Empty, FPS etc. All projects are with the default templates and without any modification. All with the same results.

I searched the web and found many issues of this nature and carried out many recommendations found in those messages. All to no avail.

I uninstalled Unreal, deleted all relevant registry keys, %APPDATA% unreal folders, rebooted and re-installed etc… Unreal is now installed in the default folder. I have tried a differant folder outside of the boot drive also. Unreal projects are saved to a secondary drive. I disabled both Bitdefenders Firewall and Antivirus.

Here are some scenarios where I encounter the issue: