Can we initialize a const member(float) in class constructor?

Hi everyone! I’m a beginner in C++ and UE4, trying to learn and practice more coding. Today I bumped into a problem. I knew we could initialize a const member of a class in C++ like this:

Class EgClass(){
protected: const float fConstVar; //declare the const variable in header

public: EgClass() : fConstVar(10.0f){ //initialize fConstVar's constant value to be 10, inside the constructor initialization list
//constructor
  }

};

But when I try the same thing in Unreal (4.24), I get the Error - ‘EgClass::fConstVar’: an object of const-qualified type must be initialized. Here is my code:

**//header file, EgClass.h**
#pragma once

#include "CoreMinimal.h"
#include "GameFramework/Actor.h"
#include "EgClass.generated.h"

class USphereComponent;

UCLASS()
class FPSGAME_API EgClass: public AActor
{
    GENERATED_BODY()

public:    
    EgClass();

protected:
    const float fConstVar;
};

**//cpp file, EgClass.cpp**
#include "EgClass.h"

EgClass::EgClass() : fConstVar(10.0f)
{ //constructor body

}

Why does this fail? This should be following the exact C++ manner right? How can I do something like this in UE?? With this not working, I tried to declare and define fConstVar at the same time in the same place, the header. So I changed my header code to be:

const float fConstVar = 10.0f;

And also delete my constructor initialization list. This time it worked. BUT I heard people say that I shouldn’t use const var in a header file if it was included in several source files. That was because then the variables would be defined once per source file (translation units technically speaking), taking up more memory than required.