Can someone explain what FRotationMatrix is?

Hi, I’m basically trying to understand the default third person movement in C++. This is part the Function that moves forward/backwards:

const FRotator Rotation = Controller->GetControlRotation(); 
const FRotator YawRotation(0, Rotation.Yaw, 0); 

I guess I understand this first part. It creates a rotator, gets the rotation, but we only “take” the Yaw, this way, we know which way is “forward”.

//get forward vector
const FVector fwd = FRotationMatrix(YawRotation).GetUnitAxis(EAxis::X);
AddMovementInput(fwd, amount);

Now here’s what I don’t understand, how does it get the FVector from a FRotator. What does exactly this do:

FRotationMatrix(YawRotation).GetUnitAxis(EAxis::X);

Thanks for your help and sorry if the question is very stupid, I’m new to this :smiley:

Hello,

I think your question is wrong. I will give an explanation, hopefully you can ask the right question.

Rotation matrix is for rotation, not “translation”.

If you have a 3D object in 3D world, you can move long each of x, y, and z axis. This is “translation” motion. You can move from any point (x1, y1, z1) to another (x2, y2, z2).

Now, for the same 3D object, you can rotate an object around each of x, y, and z axis. Go toimages.google.com and search for “pitch roll yaw” for good explanation.
Rotating around x is called Roll (Think of how an airplane Goes from this – to this / when it wants to turn)
Rotating around the y axis is called Pitch. (Imagine an airplane wants to dive down. It points downward)
Rotating around z axis is called Yaw (like you rotate a screw driver for example).

Now, imagine you have an airplane toy, and you are in a room with a TV. You hold the airplane in the air. How do you tell another person how this airplane is “oriented”, or where it is pointing to, if the room has nothing but a TV?

You do something like this:

• Point the airplane towards the TV with wings parallel to the floor (Decide a frame of reference)