Can someone explain the disclaimer at the bottom of the Answer Hub?

“By contributing information to this and other Epic Unreal Engine support outlets, including but not limited to Unreal Developer Network websites and mailing lists, you agree that any such software code, comments, and feedback (“Information”) regarding the Unreal Engine you, your employees, assignees, sub-licensees, agents, or representatives (“You”) post or otherwise submit shall become the sole property of Epic. You hereby transfer and assign to Epic Games, Inc. all rights, title, and interest, including copyrights and other intellectual property rights, in such Information.”

Does Epic have this in place in order to help protect their users from IP theft, or is it part of Epic’s secret plan to conquer the world >=)

Hi Kaladin,

First, as a disclaimer I am not a lawyer / this is not legal advice.

The disclaimer on AnswerHub (also part of the Subscription EULA, section 8 for Feedback or Submissions sent to Epic) is in place so that we can incorporate feedback/bug fixes/feature requests, etc… back into the engine, without having to acquire individual copyright assignments on a per-person, per-post basis.

You can still use stuff that becomes Feedback / Submissions (the capital phrases defined in the EULA), as mentioned by the EULA:
“However, you may continue to freely use any Feedback that you provide to Epic, and you may continue to use, in any way consistent with the License, any Submission that you make available to Epic.”

Cheers,
Michael Noland

This is to ensure that when folks post feedback, code, knowledge, or documentation contributions to Epic’s web sites and repositories, we at Epic have the unambiguous right to incorporate it into the engine, translate it, publish it, make it available for developers to legally use in their UE4 projects, defend it against copyright infringement, etc.