Can someone explain class in c++ to somebody who doesn't know much about c++?

Why (and how) do you use class in c++ code? Can someone could explain it and/or give me an example of when to use it?

Thanks?

you try google it? there are a lot of good examples explain it.

I have googled it but all I can find are complicated definitions. I’ll try again though.

K this is how I understand it but i am self taught so correct me if I am wrong.

C++ classes are the base architecture of the program, so when using them your adding stuff straight to the build level rather than adding assets to the project.

Why do this? well its as close to total freedom as your gonna get. While using blueprints and other visual scripting tools your bound to the nodes and tools they have for you, with c++ if something isnt there you can make it :smiley:

Sorta like why you would use Uscript vs Kismet in UE3.

now for how C++ classes work. Classes need 2 files, the header file, refered to as the .h file and the script file or cpp. Now your header file is where all the declaration happens, this is so that the project knows of it. Sorta like a guide to the project or introduction, like hey this is me and I have this.
Then the cpp file is the one that handles what to do. So if in your header file you declare a variable and function say a float Age and a function GetAge, the cpp then can assign (or store) the value of age, then the GetAge function can return its value.

Variable Declaration:
This is how you tell the system to hold a value. It is usually done in this matter:
VatiableType VariableName;
EX:
float Age;

Here are some variable types:
float //A number with decimal values
int //A number without decimal values
FVector //A collection of 3 values representing a point in space, X value on the x plane, y value of y plane, and z value of the z plane. Note that Unreal works with a X fowards, Y Rightside, and Z and Upwards while some other programs use Y as the upwards.