Can it be done?

i’m working on a idea for a RPG game and i’m looking into Unreal or Unity to do it in.

A friend strongly recommends Unreal, but its also going to depend on how well I can work some of the “features”

How well would Unreal be able to create a squad formation? size of 3 - 6 including the player who would stand in the center, formations would be adjustable based on follower classes.
would this be an easy thing to set up?

I’m not sure exactly how as I’m not a programmer, but I don’t see why it couldn’t be done.

Sure! You can do anything you want in Unreal. I have some projects intended to push the engine to the limits with scalability, and so far they have done well.

My plan is for a prototype (almost all paper work is done) for as you can guess, a squad based RPG, open real time world.

I’m just trying to get the important things to work, is there any programmers that anyone would recommend I could ask for this? I’m a Designer not much experience programming (except modding)

So what you are asking is “can someone do this for me” instead of “is this possible”. Also your request isnt an engine feature… its just vague ai programming.

most common thread:
reads: i want to do an open world RPG, but, I have never used a game engine before and have never done anything in the gaming industry before, but, i want to create the single most expensive and near impossible task!

Seriously, i am in no way trying to sound like a jerk here, but, what your asking for is the biggest task you could possibly hope for. Can unity do it? Sure, why not. Are you going to wish you used Unreal for this project? Yup.