Can I create an underground facility under my main landscape?

Hi Guys,

I’m completely new to game design/development and therefore, new to unreal engine!

I was trying to figure out quite a few things regarding level design an a question reached my mind. Basically, if I have a map in which my main landscape is set on the Z axis (at 0.00), can I create an underground facility UNDER Z=0.00? if so, can you point out any videos or guides on how to achieve this?

Thanks in advance

Yes, basically you need to assign a landscape hole material to your landscape layer, then you are able to use the landscape sculpture tool visibility to remove visibility and collision. The documentation should have infos on how to prepare a hole material, its not that big of a deal as I recall.

@unit23 thanks for your reply. I’ll be checking this out!

The in-engine tutorial for landscape design, sculpting tool included, shows basically how to create a landscape hole. It’s useful for caves, lakes, and a bunch of other things from what I could gather. Do you intend to have any part of the underground facility visible from on top of the landscape? such as an entrance / exit, or a tunnel?

Ok, so a few things… I understand he to put a hole in the ground… But when I do that, and after I have the rest of the shape of the land without objects in the land, how do I switch out the material color from what the land currently is? My hole is still the default color checkerboard and it I want it looking sandy, but the landscape manager does not have it anymore since I already clicked the icons “Fill” and “Create.” Sorry, I’m super new. Just got UE a couple days ago or so. Also, I wanted to address this in a separate post but did not find anything that said I could post a new thread.

I would suggest you start off with something other then landscape creation.
https://learn.unrealengine.com/