Can I activate different animations mapped to the same key under certain conditions?

Hi guys and gals, thanks for all the tutorials and tips on the forums. It’s been a huge help, but I am in a jam. I’d really appreciate any input, as I’ve been trying to wrap my brain around it the last couple of days and have no experience with Blueprint/Programming concepts (I’m an animator/designer). My brain is melting.

Anyway, here’s what I have:

A character that has and Idle, Walk and Run animation set up using a 1DBlendspace and is controllable with W,A,S,D and the Left Analog Stick.

Here’s what I want to do:

I have 3 more animations that I want to plug in, a backstep, a roll, a sprint.

I want all of these mapped to to same key under different conditions.

eg. When ‘Left Ctrl’ or ‘Gamepad Right Face Button’ is pressed

• while Idle –> play backstep animation
  • While character is moving —> play roll animation in direction character is moving
  • while moving and holding down ‘Left Ctrl’ or ‘Gamepad Right Face Button’ —> Sprint animation until button is released

If you’ve played Dark Souls, I want it to work in a similar way those actions work in that game.

I’ve tried a lot of things, and watched a lot of tutorials in hopes I can piece this together from what I learn from those.
But nope, it’s probably a really simple solution, but I just can’t figure it out.

(If pics are needed of Blueprints etc I can update, but that won’t be for a few hours as I’m not at home)

Okay, so you need to do several things.

First is to use a Blueprint Interface to pass your R1 button press AND release messages from your character controller to your anim blueprint in the form of events (the docs will help here).

From there, you would do something like this: