Can anyone please advise a start scale for my landscape

Hi, I am a beginner.
I would like to create a world which is seen from above but which has a degree of tilt and zoom (to see terrain relief and features).
It is for a strategy game and the world is effectively a 3D map.
I need the entire world to represent 500km x 500km of land.
The player needs to be able to zoom from whole world (500km x 500km) to a full screen of around 10km x 10km.
I understand sculpting and learning about other things but I’m stuck for a scale to start with.

Can anyone please advise a start scale for my landscape (# components / # section size / # Sections per Component and resolution)?

Or should I build it in sections and if so how many and what scales?

Thanks a lot.

Is it necessary to go that big?
IF the camera is at such a distance, the actual size in meters/km of the landscape doesn’t really matter.

The details the LODs will allow for with a camera that far away are very low to begin with. in fact, you’d be lucky to even get LOD2 to show up on the very tile you are looking at.

What does that mean?
That means you get a much worse looking result by placing a camera at 10km above ground and looking at the ground then you would if place the camera at 400m off the ground, and scaled everything tiny so that it seemed like you were 10km off the ground.
Make sense?

I’d say it depends on the amount of detailing you want to sculpt onto your maps, whether you’re going for a stylised or cartoonish graphic style where details will be a lot softer, or a more realistic style where the landscape details will be much finer, and the graphic fidelity you’re aiming for… UE4 uses UE4 units for size and scale, which are abstract and not linked to any real world units.