Camera fixed to pawn that moves on spline?

Hello,

I’m pretty new to UE4, and am having a bit of a problem. What I have is a vehicle interior that is a pawn blueprint that moves along a spline automatically. I figured out the blueprint for that, but now I want to get a camera to attach to it. I know how to create the camera, and reference it in the level blueprint so that when I hit play it looks through that camera. But how do I attach it to the pawn of the vehicle interior so that it moves with it?? Currently it stays stationary and the vehicle interior just moves on without the camera. In the end all I need is for the camera to stay fixed in the driver seat so you can look around inside while it moves.

Thanks for the help in advance! I have no coding experience, just trying to finish this project with blueprints alone.

This is the blueprint for the pawn of the interior that moves along the spline.

Level blueprint referencing camera.

I know this might be a bit simplistic, but… instead of a separate camera actor… how about just using a camera Component as part your vehicle interior Actor instead?

If this solution doesn’t suit your needs, post here and I’ll try to help out… I’ve spent a lot of time futzing with cameras

Thanks for the reply!

I can try that, do I need to connect it to any specific nodes? Or just add it into the actor as if it’s a static mesh?

welcome! yes, just add it as a child component to your interior Pawn actor BP… you can even add a spring arm, which will give you some nice smooth position and rotation lag (looks really nice)

When I add it into the actor, it just stays stationary still, it doesn’t go with the vehicle. Maybe it is and it’s just not using that camera when I hit play?

I think you are right, remember to set your vehicle interior pawn actor (with the child camera component) as the new View Target… not the camera actor in your level :slight_smile:

That’s how I set it up and it’s still not working :frowning: