Calling a function of a class variable

Hello there,
I am not really experienced with C++ in UE4 (or C++ overall), but I created an object with a Soundwave variable, which I can choose in Blueprints. I realized that there is no way to get the duration of a Soundwave in Blueprints (Or is there?) and I wanted to write a C++ function for that (The Documentation of USoundWave does contain a GetDuration() function after all), so all I need to do is to access this function, but my variable is not an object yet (It’s a class), so I don’t know how to access that function. Sorry if this seems kinda basic to you guys, but I would appreciate any help.

294689-screenshot-171.png

“VoiceLine->GetDuration();” doesn’t work. (Incomplete pointer error)

Edit: Oh and I have the header included, because USoundWave can be found in the .h file and I included the .h in the .cpp file.

First of all this has nothing to do with UE4, it’s C++ thing. “Incomplete pointer or type” means that object or structure does not have content (variables) declared (in compiler terms, it’s incompletely declared), there for size of type in memory can not be determent and compiler can’t generate machine code for this type. Look here

class USoundCue* VoiceLine;

By placing “class” you actually declared class, so it actually equivalent of doing this:

class USoundCue;