Call Blueprint Event from Console

Hi,

Does anyone know of a way to bind blueprint events to console commands, mainly so I can debug a fairly complex blueprint without binding keys for each individual variable and such? Ideally I’d like to avoid using C++ at this point, but if its inevitable, so be it.

For example, I can enter a command into the console:

dock_load 1, 4

And my blueprint will run a certain event with a the arguments I supply?

1 Like

I’m just getting started in Unreal, but I’m looking to do the same thing. With the help of another forum user I’ve tracked down where to look at in the C++ sources, and so right now I’m getting the hang of making blueprint nodes. If you’re interested I can let you know when I have a blueprint node’s sources figured out. Not promising anything but I want to look into making plugins as well, so if I can figure out how to do that I’ll be able to help others avoid having to compile.

Sounds good, drop a line if you manage to figure something out.

I stumbled upon this plugin and figured I’d let you know. I haven’t actually looked into it myself yet though.

If you add an event in the level script, you can actually call it directly in the console with “ce EventName OptionalParamValue” etc.

As an example, if this were in my level script:

I could call it on the console with “ce TestConsoleEvent 25” and it would output 25 to the screen.

If you want an event in a blueprint for an actor in the world, you can use a similar setup, except you also have to specify which actor (and it uses “ke” instead of “ce”):
“ke ActorName EventName ParamValue”

If you don’t know the actor name, you can use “*” and it will try to call it on **every **actor in the world:
“ke * TestConsoleEvent 25”

16 Likes

Awesome. That sounds super useful. Thanks for the info.

this example, “ke * TestConsoleEvent 25”, it doesnt work on a shipping build, right? or am i doing something else wrong?