Call a C++ function through blueprints? / Update Mesh Distance Fields with origin shifting

Hello,

Is there a way I can call a C++ function through blueprints? I am an artist/developer making a blueprint-only game.

I use mesh distance fields for a couple things, namely DFAO and some water shaders. I occasionally shift the world origin through blueprints, and when I do the distance fields don’t receive the offset. In the image below it looks like there is a simple function that could be called at the same time I shift the world origin, but I don’t know if this is possible to do in blueprints.

Any advice is appreciated, thanks.

You can call any function that has been marked as BlueprintCallable in the code via Blueprints.

The “UpdatePrimitveDistanceFieldSceneData_GameThread” function has not been exposed to blueprints in the code. You can, however write a custom C++ function that calls the function, and expose that function to Blueprints. (You will need C++, though)

This may help you write C++ in a Blueprint project (never tried it, but sounds cool):

But I still do recommend that you make your project a C++ project instead of Blueprint-only, because of little things like this.

1 Like

Hi, I was just looking at that as well. It does also require a C++ project. In that case I think it makes sense just to get a programmer to help me write the function and expose it for use in blueprints.

I’ll have to see if it’s possible to convert a project, or if I would need to make a fresh one and then migrate things over. That’s probably something easy to google though.

It’s certainly possible to turn a Blueprint project into a C++ project in-place (I don’t remember the process, but you could figure it out on these forums).

The function should be so easy to write that you could just ask me :slight_smile:
(once you’re project’s converted).

Thanks NachoMonkey!