C++ Only!

Hi :rolleyes:
I’m C++ Programmer and I want start develop my game with Unreal Engine 4, I want ask first:
Can I use C++ only for programming or I must use Blueprint beside C++ ? I have no experience in blueprint …

You can use only c++ and configs but I wouldn’t recommend it. You will save development time by using blueprints when appropriate. It is a good way to e.g. set default values and avoid hard coded values and references. Also if you use a component based design blueprints can be handy to add components and build actors.

if you use c++ correctly you use blueprint almost even without touch, i was in your same situation, and after some extensive use of blueprints, i really love, i never see before something soooo incredible, is like a perfect right hand for c++, indeed is!, if you want c++ made nodes, super useful for prototypes, right now my workflow involves just create complex functions on c++ creating funcionallity and blueprints to game logic and fun stuff

Cheers!

Blueprints are C++. They are nothing more than a Visual Interface for C++. Blueprints don’t have any knowledge of their own, instead they run C++ knowledge that they inherit, as they’re actually children of C++ classes.

So if you want to do pure C++, you can. It’s less documented right now, but it’s perfectly viable. However, ignoring Blueprints completely is a little silly as they are great for many things, including changing gameplay logic, or simply setting up children classes that modify Default Values for modified behaviors. But it’s completely doable.

When we initially started development of our game in UE4, we went straight for just using C++. It is completely viable and we found that knowing C++ made us more comfortable in this method. But as we began to understand the Engine more, there were certain things blueprints did (mainly allowing easy real-time changes) which made development a lot easier, so they are well worth checking out.