C# implementation?

So I have been developing in Unity for some time mostly for fun, never releasing anything.
Big part of the reason why is because I find Unity kind of unreliable (specifically it’s physics engine), and as an overall C# developer I really don’t want to restrain myself to .Net 3.5.

That pretty much lead me to asking, why couldn’t UE4 implement C# development through .Net Core? Or better, why wouldn’t UE4 want to implement C#?

As far as I know it’s open-source, and it’s goal is pretty much getting C# across all platforms, but with full backing from MS, which solves the problems of the full .Net being Win only.

If what I get from this is true, then it would be quite a good thing to implement, and would make a lot of people happier, right? I find C# really attractive just because of the fact it’s one language with which you can do modern win 10 apps (not the best choice IMHO), ASP.NET websites (or like i do Angular 2 front-end + ASP.NET back-end), old-school apps for windows, MonoGame for more direct game making and Unity showed it’s possible to do games easily aswell.

What I am getting at is that I think a lot of people would prefer having C# for all this and UE4 over having to learn C++ just because of UE4, and I think that .Net Core libraries are a lot easier to understand than many of the c++ things, even though some people hate the verbosity.

Quick heads up - this has been discussed a lot in the past and is simply not going to happen (at least directly from Epic).

It also often degenerates into a C++ vs. <insert language here> kinda thread :slight_smile:

Thought you should know.

I laughed when I read this.
So you basically say “I come from Unity and learned C# for Unity. Now I want to use C#, because I came from Unity and don’t want to learn C++, because Unity used C#”

C# in UE4 will never happen from Epic’s side. A third language Support delays the main development of the Engine.