C++ Documentation

C++ documentation for Unreal Engine is untidy and unexplained. I. Don’t. Understand. A single thing.
I don’t know how you guys code there.
I really apprecciate the 20€+5% payment, the friendly community, and the editor manual. But, my game project deals about funny physics effects. I need C++ to improve performance.

totally agreed
ive been programing on and off since around 1987 in just about every language there is and i cant even get simple things to even compile, let alone work.
there is some kind of magic happening in ue4 that ive no idea how to tap into.
very frustrating

I understand the frustration and it’s something we’re working on. If you could tell us what pages you’re reading, what problems you’re seeing with those, what aspects of programming inUE4 you find most difficult or confusing, what you would like to see changed or improved in the documentation, what workflows just don’t make sense, etc., that would help us out a great deal. The more information you provide, the better able we are to act on it. :slight_smile:

a quick example, a search for ‘random’ in ue4 documentation
https://docs.unrealengine.com/latest/INT/Search/index.html?q=random&filter=documentation&x=0&y=0
nothing but a few blueprint examples and pages like this, basically a useless list as is all of the api reference.

a quick search of another engine documentation for ‘random’
http://docs.unity3d.com/ScriptReference/Random.html
brings a list of relevant links, clicking on the 1st one
brings up a (working) example in code

most of the c++ documentation either does not exist or contains a useless list (at best)

I strongly recommend the Shootergame source and the UT source. I’ve been treating the UT source as an authority, for better or worse.

For specific implementation details, starting with the C++ variant of a given template is super helpful.