C# as scripting language

Hello there,

I am an experienced C# developer and I was using Unity. The fact that Unity scripting language was C# I found myself creating games in 1 Week.

Learning C++ (again) will cost me a lot of time, that is why I am using BluePrints. But it is also taking a lot of time what I can do with the code with 2 lines of code.

So is Epic planning to release a C# support or do I have to keep using BluePrints ?

Theres a plugin that implements it with Mono I think, but its limited.

AFAIK - C# and C++ aren’t super different. What will you take you time is learning Unreal’s API and everything else related to it, not so much the language itself (especially if you’ve used and learned it before).

Well, EPIC themselves will not, but a very talented programmer @Nate has sent a complete implementation of C# (Mono) to Xamarin in the hopes that they will host an official fork of Unreal with C# integrated into it. It was sent in just a few days ago, so we are waiting to hear from Xamarin as to their decision.

Here is the thread

i would say c# and c++ are SUPER DIFFERENT. generics, LINQ, dynamic lists, etc. i tried to convert one of my unity projects into c++, and came across a lot of differences. to be honest, c++ seems like more work.

seems like i need a c++ book.

C++ is more work yes. Also depending what’s your project like in Unity you need to realize that Unity uses component based design alonn with the C# so even if UE would have support the project would not be structured the same at all.

Make it happen please

the biggest problem of game developing community is, tutorials. i seriously cant find a tutorial which explains a real life situation. i dont know what to do, i dont know what to learn.