C++ 17 may support headerless code. Will UE4, too?

A Module System For C++ (Revision 3)
CppCon 2015: Gabriel Dos Reis “Large Scale C++ with Modules: What You Should Know"
C++ Modules in VS 2015 Update 1

// Old Post. <- See, I’m a programmer!
We know that this header thing in C++, is an inherited problem from the programming language C. Which forces extra typing work, and causes slow compile time, as well as can cripple smooth IDE functionality. Sadly though, not even for C++ 17 it’s guaranteed that C++ is going to get a module system that would allow to ditch headers. It may be too early to ask whether UE4 will support this. But also UE4/Epic could provide another reason for those who implement new features into C++ 17? Or even a possible Visual Studio 2017*?

Wikipedia C++ 17
A Module System For C++

However, the PDF linked above, with the document number N4047, is aiming to introduce two new keywords which are ‘import’ and ‘module’. Seems that UE4 would need some changes, too.

So what’s Epic’s view on this? Needless to say, that if C++17/UE4/VS2017* could support headerless code in two years, it would also reduce the need for C# in UE4. Don’t get me wrong, I wold love to have C# in UE4, but how likely it that going to happen**?

• Or whatever the name of the VS2015 successor is going to be.
    ** You don’t have to answer this question. It was rhetorical. :slight_smile:

Bump. Because headerless code is awesome! :slight_smile:

Yes, this will be an awesome and welcomed addition! I am greatly looking forward to modules that is for sure. I heard (Not sure though) it wont make it for c++17, but likely a TS shortly afterwards!