Buying an iMac for gaming development

Hello,
I am a developer but totally new into the gaming development.
I am about to start using the Unreal Engine in order to start developing games mainly for iOS platform.
I am thinking of buying a new Mac and I would like to ask you whether the iMac which I refer bellow can run the Unreal Engine for gaming development.

iMac specs:

27-inch 5K
4.0 Ghz Quad-Core Intel Core i7
16GB 1867MHz LDDR3 SDRAM-2x8GB (future upgrade to 32GB)
512GB Flash Storage
AMD Radeon R9 M395 - 2GB GDDR5

For unreal development, mac with same hardware as PC perform much worse (for working with Unreal Editor).

All you need mac for Ios development with unreal is signing game files >FOR STORE< and uploading to app store.
Everything else until your game is ready to sell can be done on PC. You can deploy to your devices and you can create development builds.

As to that mac specs I am not sure, on PC this would be enough to develop mobile games. Whole thing is totally different if you want to build desktop quality games (all with precomputing lights, huge maps and rest of all that), for that even on windows this hardware is bit lacking.

I strongly recommend that you develop on a PC for 2 reasons:

1. Graphics card and processor can be swapped out eventually to handle the up-coming graphics.
  2. Can ultimately handle a LOT more graphical power than any Mac can.

All of this depends on the price of the PC, but it still would be on par with what your iMac would cost. Still your choice of course :smiley:

I would recommend a PC too.
Much better in the long run if I do say so myself!

Remember Metal for Desktop coming in 4.11 so performance is supposed to be 70% better or so on Mac.

It’s still a bad idea to buy a computer hoping that it will get 70% better performance sometime in the future. A lot of developers for Apple and iOS related projects do everything on a PC, and uses a Mac Mini or cheap Mac product just to finish up and submit the project.