Business formation tips?

Hi all, wanted to see what sort of advice there might be out there regarding business structure for developer studios. I’m in the United States for reference.

While I’ve had some experience with local business, our game will (hopefully) be worldwide. Since our target is mobile, there are plenty of patent troll stories to be found in this area. Not to mention a few stories of hostile companies stealing game designs and suing the pants off Indy devs.

For a studio with fewer than 5 people, who have some realistic sense of actually making money (longshot), I’m thinking an LLC structure to start for ease of taxes, a formal contract and personal protection. Anyone who has gone through this before willing to offer any advice? Perhaps any pitfalls to avoid particular to this industry?

There is something called copyrights it only cost $35 and last 70 years after the creator’s death or unless you surrender your rights. Not going to write an entire passage here I suggest you do a bit more research on your own. http://www.copyright.gov/help/faq/faq-register.html

My only advice don’t be afraid against patent trolls just watch this and learn. Drew Curtis: How I beat a patent troll - YouTube

JeDeergab - That video was very good :slight_smile:

I live TED talks

I have started, been involved with and run the entire gamut:

LLC taxed as a disregarded entity - Schedule C
LLC taxed as a partnership - 1065
LLC taxed as an S-Corp - 1120S
LLC taxed as a C-Corp - 1120
S-Corp
C-Corp

Will the number of people you specified be founders of the company or are we talking two people coming together with the other three being employees? How much in terms of capital or assets (can be intellectual) is each person contributing to business upon formation?

There are benefits and detriments to each type of incorporation.

LLC as a disregarded entity:

1.) Can only have one person as an owner (Member in LLC legalese)