Building an RPG with Unreal Book - Anyone Read?

Just looking to find out of anyone has read this book and whether it’s any good?

Thanks!

Haven’t read the book, but from the looks of it, it is very heavily C++ oriented. I clicked the “Look Inside” link on Amazon, and was able to go through several pages. Very detailed from what I can tell. Looks to be 300+ pages on how to setup exactly what I’m wanting to do. I’m not very good with C++, but might pick it up since it’s on the subject I am interested in the most. Maybe it’s time for me to learn C++… :slight_smile:

If anyone else has read this, could they share their thoughts?

I just ordered it, so I’ll post back when I have a review.

Awesome, thanks a ton!

I bought it, tried to use it and got stumped in Chapter 3, the book uses 4.7.x and I started in 4.10.1, I even backtracked to 4.8.3 and the code base in UnReal changed to the point I couldn’t make it work. Biggest problem was no way to contact Author or a good forum stream for answers, maybe I will try and see if anyone here gone through book with current version of Engine and resolved the issues.

That’s the same problem I’m having with the documentation and videos. What ever happened to the MajorChange.MinorChange numbering format? Or am I just too old that I expect 4.11 and 4.7 to operate in exactly the same manner, but 4.11 and 5.1 could be totally different. It seems like they’re going MajorOverhaul.MajorChange.MinorChange. UGH!

You have the option to install the 4.7.x version of the engine, so you would be able to work out of the book.

Read it, and followed the whole book through. The differences between 4.7 and 4.11 were pretty easy to deal with. However, I found the practices in the book to be sub par at best.