Building a digital twin of a robot

Hey Guys,

Starting this discusion to get input, feedback or tips for my digital twin research project. My goal is to use unreal engine for engineering simulation purposes. These simulations will help to make FMEA studies and design optimasations of production lines and factories easier and faster to iterate. These simulations would then preferably be used as HMI for daily operations.

I am a freelance engineer and all to often I see projects were there is miscommunication due to lack of visualisation of the problem. Gaming engines offer tremendous opportunities to help better connect with different departments to build production lines and machines. After some reading I came up with a plan to test out and help customers build better machines faster and cheaper.

The plan for now:

• Create basic CAD objects using Shapr3D(Siemens parasolid powered tool, intuitive and good for fast designing)
  • Import the CAD into unreal engine (Datasmith import tool)
  • Setup blueprints which allow PLC communication that will control machine movement in unreal engine (this will be the hard part as I believe custom plugin will be needed)

For the first phase of the plan I will model a KUKA IONTEC, a 6 axis robot.

Here is a shot of the cast iron baseplate I modeled:

Next step is to import the machined part using datasmith and see what happens.

I will post my progress in this discussion.

Kind regards,

Finished the simplified base pivot cast, next up is the import to unreal and start assembling baseplate.

I am looking for good tutorials on best practice to build the robot blueprint, if you know some please send me a link.

Kind regards,

For a robot arm I would focus on implementing two joint ik systems for segments.
It also depends if the plc controller would pass in specific motor rotations,or if would it just be start / stop / rotation direction signals.

You also need to identify the protocol of the PLC (does it use CIP).