'Build' in Visual Studio doesnt take, sometimes I have to click 'Compile' in Editor to see changes

Hi all.

I am quite new to UE4, but not completely new to programming or game development.

I am making a simple class which moves a camera from left to right. I try to make some small changes such as adding a UE_LOG message, or changing the direction in code. Normally I have been clicking ‘Build’ on the Solution Explorer ‘MyProject’ in VS2017. Suddenly (last night and today) this seems to not carry through to UE4. I get message in VS2017 ‘Build Succeeded’. But the code changes dont have any effect.

All I have to do to ‘fix’ the issue, is then ‘Compile’ in UE4 and the code changes all work as expected.

For testing, I tried not even clicking ‘Build’ in VS and this also works fine.

NB. I have been getting error in VS2017 ever since installing Unreal again. I posted here and Stack Overflow about it but I got no solid help with it. I don’t know if this is related but the error I get is when ‘Build’ in VS after it says: ’ E1574 static assertion failed with “TAtomic is only usable with trivial types” ’

From what I read I need to change Compliler settings to remove /Zp option. But all the details in links I found where outdated (/Zp (Struct Member Alignment) | Microsoft Docs / c++ - Static assertion failed with "Windows headers require the default packing option..." - Stack Overflow )

Maybe you are building the wrong target in Visual Studio, maybe building Debug Game or Debug Game Editor instead of Development Editor?

1 Like

thanks for your reply. Sadly I don’t think this is the case. In VS2017 I tried clicking ‘Build Solution’ (from the Build topdown menu) and the result is the same. I am a newbie though and havent had to change Visual Studio compiler/dependency settings for a long time (every time I’ve done it I just blindly follow developers tutorials on those parts)