Brand new to Unreal Engine. Not a fan of visual scripting

Hi all, I have been making games as a hobby for well over 5 years now, but am still at the intermediate-novice stage. I started using pure code libraries such as libGDX (java), XNA (c#) and some examples using native code for mobile development and c++ windows-console apps.

I then used Unity for many years and made many part-finished cool games just for fun. But I did run into lots of limitations and found myself simply learning the Unity API and waiting for new features to explore them. I am particularly disappointed with the network-gaming solutions they push (ie. They seem to mislead members to learn how to easily create multiplayer games but then at the end of the learning process you realise you are fully reliant on hiring their servers at high cost. They don’t tell you in any detail at all how to create a master server program you could for example run from your home pc or another cheaper server solution).

I realise I could (and in fact have, with great difficulty) build my own network gaming solution. But after doing this, it made me want to finally make the switch to Unreal.

OK, so never have I used visual scripting other than when making materials in apps such as Blender. I admit, I hate it. I am used to following code line-by-line and seeing declarations in code and following how functions are invoked etc.

When I watch ANY tutorial about UE4 all I see is people creating small c++ functions and variables and then making them into complex nodes in the Blueprints window. When i see the end result, I always think it was bloated and unnecessary and why did they not just do that with some simple c++ classes.

**TLDR: My question: **Are there any functions or any type of functionality that I am not able to access in the Unreal API in C++ code , that I would be able to hook up to from Blueprints?