Branch only works on false, please help

Hi, everyone.

I’m pretty new at using Unreal so hopefully this isn’t a bad question. Anyway, I’ve been following this tutorial for a top down shooter: - YouTube.
My issue is that when I use his setup, shooting and touching the enemy does nothing. I followed his tutorial to the best of my ability - I tagged the bullet, and even tried casting a bit (http://puu.sh/qkXHi/376d9e463c.png). When I set the branch to trigger when false, both shooting and touching the enemy prints the string, which I don’t want. I only want it when shooting. I’ve been going back through the video and scouring the internet, but I haven’t found anything. Thanks for helping.

Error message received when hitting enemies: Error Blueprint Runtime Error: Attempted to access Bullet1_C_7 via property K2Node_Event_Other, but Bullet1_C_7 is pending kill from function: ‘ExecuteUbergraph_BasicEnemy’ from node: Branch in graph: EventGraph in object: BasicEnemy with description: Attempted to access Bullet1_C_7 via property K2Node_Event_Other, but Bullet1_C_7 is pending kill

It looks like you’re deleting the bullet before you can cast to it and check it’s tag.

Most likely you have the BP for the bullet set to delete itself on hit. This is where you should do this functionality, not on your pawn.

Instead, on your Bullet, cast to other actor, and cast it to your pawn (or whatever you want to do damage too. You don’t even need to cast if you want to damage everything. Or, check if other actor has tag). Do Apply damage to other actor. Then delete self.

Then on your pawn, do Event Any Damage, subtract from health the damage dealt, set your health, check for death.

Then your errors should clear up and it should work.

Edit: I re-read your post and you say you only want your functionality to happen when you shoot - not on hit? if so, you shouldn’t attach this to “on hit”, you should attach it to wherever you’re doing the fire sequence.