Bomberman type explosions in blueprint.

I found this thread, but sadly i’m not that skilled in C++ so i was thinking if anyone would know how to do this in blueprint or guide me towards a way how to.

I think there’s a few things to sort out first.

Firstly, In Bomberman, bombs are locked to a grid. No matter when you place it, it will always align neatly with the level grid so that when it explodes, each of the 4 directions will expand outwards to their maximum cleanly along the level. So are you having the explosions locked to a grid? If so, it makes it a lot easier.

What I would do (and I am by no means a professional so this may not be the correct way) is use a Line Trace By Channel to do a trace outwards from the exploding bomb in each of the 4 directions. You can also pass in the explosion size into the line trace so it will only go as far as the explosion will, saving a headache later (If you’re saving it like “Bomb size = 1” to mean the explosion will extend outwards one grid space in all directions, multiply that value by the size of your grid). Then, for each of the traces, check to see if it hit something.

If it hit a non-destructible wall, get the length of the trace, divide by the grid size then round down to get the number of grid spaces the explosion should affect.

If it hit a destructible object (wall, player, whatever), do the same thing but add one more grid space to the result (because you’d want the explosion to encompass the object). Then, probably use an interface call on the hit object to say “I exploded you. Do what you gotta do”.

If it didn’t hit anything, simply use the bomb explosion size as the number of grid spaces to encompass.