Blueprint or C++ for spellcreation

Hi all Epic programmers and artists!

I am quite new to the unreal engine 4 and have been playing around with meshes (making collision and so on) made in blender. I and a couple of friends are creating a game and one of the things I am supposed to do are creation of spells. I wonder if there is any need to learn C++ for this or if it is enough to use Blueprint. What are the advantages with creating spells in C++ and what are the advantages with Blueprint?

Also if there is any need to use C++ i would also ask you guys if you know of any tutorials that are good for learning C++ from the start (never programmed C++ before but have done so in other languages before :p).

Thanks guys for helping me out :slight_smile:

Blueprint’s pretty much for 2D and where C++ is overkill. There is limitations though: no unsigned types, no map/pair/set types, no double precision, no 16/64 bit integers, no signed bytes, I don’t think bitflag enums work with it either.

Here you can find my post about Blueprints vs C++ it might help with a decision.

What if it’s a 2.5D game on mobile/console? Not a lot of Paper2D C++ tutorials

The simplest way to decide is to base the decision on whether or not you want to learn C++, or whether your time is more valuable than that. Time is your most valuable asset when it comes to programming. Blueprint is fast enough for most games to run just fine, and if you can create it in half the time using those tools and it still runs at your target FPS - use Blueprint. Nobody is going to frown on you for it and there’s nothing impure about it :wink:

If you fancy a challenge though (one that might be very frustrating at times, but ultimately very rewarding when you work through it), try a hand at C++. Combining both can give you the best of both worlds, creating your overarching classes in C++ and then setting up their properties in Blueprints is a common way to approach it.