Blueprint interface VS ActorComponent, The Good And The Bad

Long question short, are blueprint interfaces still relevant when we can extend Actor logic through ActorComponents?

Some time ago I started programming a system which lets Actors interact with the environment, so they can pick up ‘items’, read text written on walls or contained by book Actors, drink water and talk to NPCs. All combined, an interaction system can become quite large.

The logic for this interaction system was written in an ActorComponent, which is added to a Pawn so the Pawn can interact with the world, and through a Blueprint Interface which was added to any Actor that can be interacted with.

At first, I saw the benefits of Blueprint Interfaces. You can simply at that Interaction Interface to any actor in your level and send it a message “can you be eaten? can you be picked up? Can I talk to you?”

However, I realized this is rather ridiculous for the following reasons:

1. We can simply add such an Interaction Component to any actor which is interactable and implement a response there.
  2. A Blueprint Interface method does not work with default property values.
  3. A Blueprint Interface clutters the class with unused and generic named methods.

Can we discuss any situation you found Blueprint Interfaces to be very useful and not replacable?

1 Like

I code my games exactly like this as well. It becomes pretty easy to drop in all sorts of behavior into any actor. I first realized games in Unity are all built this way since that’s just how game objects are put together. I now hardly ever have any actor code aside from setting up interactions between the components.