Blueprint Interface to player controller Ue5-0

Im still new to unreal . Just a quick question on interfaces

I create an interface called getEnemy as I want to share the location of the actor in a number of places

I set the value of the interface GetEnemy in an pawn class as a message …

however when I try get the GetEnemy interface event inside “player controller” things seem to be invalid

Any Idea why this is happening or what I should be doing differently . All help is appreciated =)

I thought maybe the event tick had something to do with it, or the fact I’m not setting any variables to consume those interfaces . Not sure yet if delegates can be used in this way ? Or how to use casting inside of the player controller Blueprint…

The “then execution wire” from EventGetEnemy is not hooked up.

edit:
all you need on the controller is plug the isValid directly into the EventGetEnemy. You are already calling the function every frame from somewhere else.

2 Likes

a test you can do to help illustrate what is happening is to set an input key to call the interface funtion.

Then on each actor, implement the function and have a print string that reads the actors name.

Then you can see that when one actor calls the interface function, all actors that implement the function will do so for each time that it is called.

1 Like

Ill definitely try and do that I think that setting things on the event tick has something to do with it

Event Tick was the issue as when I run the steps in key press Interface is set and can be called …

1 Like

Your blueprint doesn’t have an execution pin from the “event get enemy” event handler.

If you want to CALL an event, you should not use the “implement an event” (red header) nodes, you should use the “call an event/interface” (blue header) nodes.