Blueprint for Post Process GI and shutters closing

I’ve recently been working on a project to visualize a bedroom and a bathroom but i somehow have to integrate lowering GI in post production in the bedroom when the window shutters close basically. I’m trying to make this as realistic as possible and I ran into a lot of issues as I’m not that good with blueprints.

I thought about having 2 post production volumes for each room

So the blueprints i’d be willing to make is:

Blueprint nr 1 for the window shutters:
-shutters closing and GI lowered to 0 in the bedroom
-shutters opening and Gi coming back to 1 rather fast but not instantly.

Blueprint 2 for the bathroom door:
-opening bathroom door and increasing GI by a bit in the bedroom post production volume if the shutters are closed since there is light coming in from the bathroom.

I’ve heard a few people say it’s really easy to make but I’ve been trying for a month now and I can’t get it to work. I’d appreciate any help with it.

You can’t animate GI, when you use a stationary light you can animate its intensity and color, but that only affects direct lighting, the indirect lighting (GI) is baked and will not change when you animate the light.
You can try placing a number of dynamic/movable lights to fake the appearance of GI and then animate those (just make sure to disable shadows on most of them)
Alternately, you can try setting up Nvidia VXGI which is a dynamic GI system, but requires downloading the Nvidia branch from the UE4 source code and compiling the editor from there with Visual Studio.

Hey darth, I’ve been able to reduce the global illumination intensity from post production, the part that is not baked but i don’t know how to make a blueprint for it, it’s the part i’m struggling with:P.