Black sky/no sun horrible performance in VR

Im pretty new to Unreal Engine. Im trying to learn it to do Arch visualizations. I have been doing visualizations in 3ds Max/Vray. I bring my models in from 3ds max as either an import or a live link (have tried both). The problem that I seem to be having is that if I leave “Forward Shading” OFF, I have my blue sky and it all looks great, but when I go into this with my headset it basically wont run…just locks up so bad you cant do anything but exit out. If I have “Forward Shading” ON I have black sky and cant see the sun, but I can get into file with my headset and move around with no problems. I dont get this program well enough (yet) to understand what it is doing. The info that I have (Youtube etc.) says that “Forward Shading” should be OFF. I also have Ray tracing on as well as static lighting disabled. Not sure what other settings people would need me to put in here to help. If someone has some insight, or good links as to how things should be set-up for arch visualization that would be much appretiated if you could share it with me. Thank you in advance. My main goal with using UE for visualizations is to put these buildings into VR. I can do straight renders out of Max/vray. But being able to do full walkthroughs is more practical if I can use a program like unreal to do it. Thanks in advanced.

There are a multitude of things you can look into. Lighting will hit the performance the most. There are some introductions to lighting. I like this one:

Lighting in Unreal Engine 5 for Beginners (youtube.com)

You didn’t say what engine you are using. I would use Unreal 5 with Nanite and Lumen. Nanite lets you render millions of polygons and Lumen gives you dynamic ambient lighting.

VR needs 90 frames per second to have a comfortable experience. Your head set can run off your video card. That will be a lot faster than any build in video card, like the Quest 2 has.