Download

big newbie question about version control and platform

first of all, i have several questions to make, i’m a programmer, and as one, i’m related with all the things that come to programming, language, framework, database software, etc. but, there is something i never had the need to use and is a git repository, because i’ve never been officially working in something, always coding and working on my own local disk, if i had any trouble i just simple start debugging or starting all over again, but this time i really want to make the things more “professional”, and i heard about 3 amazing repository tools, github, gitlab and bitbucket, but someone told me that these won’t make your life easier, and is because these won’t work for the commit made on assets, textures, animations, materials (binary assets), he suggested to use perforce, or the other svn.

the second thing i wanted to mention is that i’m working on a shooter for mobile devices (android for now, ios is too expensive for indie devs), and while working on unreal engine, i had to mind that if i should keep on, or change to unity, 3 things to take this decision, unity has a much better performance when it comes to mobile devices, a better support for ads, google play, and monetization, and the apk size is much reduce compared with unreal engine, ie: 100mb ue vs 50-70mb unity, although, i’m still in love with unreal engine, and i have some other projects in mind to make with ue4.

my point here is, do you guys know any git repository to use with both, i mean, if there is any compatible with both frameworks, and if i should use bitbucket, the one i want to try because is the one that works better for unity, but i’m still confused :confused: