Best Workflow

Hi

I am a beginner when it comes to using Unreal. I run a Tile shop, as in Porcelain, Ceramic Tiles you place on your floors and walls. We sell to the public a wide range of different tiles (We have around 400 in our showroom, from Ceramic, to Porcelain, to Natural Stone Cladding to Cement and Wood like tiles.

I want to give customers a new experience, but I have no idea how to go about it. I thought this might be the best place to ask.

I want to bring all our tiles into Unreal, High Res Photos of them, and be able to do mock ups for clients. If a client comes into my showroom, likes the look of a tile, I want to be able to go to Unreal, throw the tile up on an Arch-Viz type indoor/outdoor model inside Unreal, and show them different tiling patterns or features of Mosaics around pools, inside showers etc, with different lighting options. To show the customer what their wall/floor would like like tiled.

I am also planning on buying Oculus, where the experience would be even more immersive, and give us a real USP, which other companies don’t have.

Does anyone have any idea the best workflow for this? Anybody suggest the type of Blueprints I would need for this?

I would model a couple of standard Interiors/Exteriors in 3ds Max, bring the models into UE4, then have a library of all our tiles, or textures of them, which could fill the walls and floors, in different patterns through Blueprints?

Any help would be most appreciated. I was thinking of maybe using Substance Designer for the Tiling patterns.

I just don’t know the most efficient way to do this.

Again I am a total beginner with UE4 and most things 3D, but I love what I’ve learnt so far want to keep learning.

If anyone could point to any Tutorials which could help, or could give any guidance, I would be most appreciative.

Many thanks.

Great idea! I wish there were some companies around me that cared anything about technology!