Best Way to Start With Multiplayer Programming and C++

I know this question comes up a lot but I just wanted to see if anyone had similar experiences and could give me advice on the best way to get started. As some background I am a computer science student in college and I am looking to get into game development. I have looked at the first person shooter example project and for the most part I understand what is going on, but then I moved to the ShooterGame example project and I am not sure where to start when it comes to understanding a more complex project. When looking at the larger project I struggle to understand where/how some of the methods and files connect and run, particularly when it comes to the menu and multiplayer aspect. I know that there is a high learning curve with Unreal and I know there are a lot of tutorials out there for blueprints, but I know C++ and I would just like to know the best way to gradually get comfortable with Unreal and C++. I am wondering if there are any good courses or resources that people can recommend that will help me learn.

Thanks,
Adam

2 Likes

Hi, I started learning Unreal about a year ago. I am a programmer by profession (10+ years) and I had some experience with C++. My goal was the same as yours, I am mostly interested in building C++ multiplayer games. I did about 50 hours of video tutorials over the course of some months. Some were interesting and fun to do, with some it was hard to stay motivated (Mostly those topics I am not too interested in but I felt I should understand anyway, for me that’s anything content related, materials, level design, etc.)