Best way to gather C++ game programming experience?

Hey everyone, I have a general question regarding C++ game programming here.

I’m wondering what the community here thinks is a good way to practice/accumulate C++ gaming knowledge. I’d like to learn more about the foundation of C++, the ins and outs of how UE4 uses C++, and have something to judge my progress along the way. Things I have tried so far are making small projects on my own (with different perspectives and styles), looking at UE4 example project source code, and looking at community content. Although I think each gives valuable experience, I’m not sure if I should be focusing more on one over another.

I’ve also looked at modding for UE4 games such as Squad and Conan, but it’s something I’ve never done before and I’m not sure if I would learn much C++ game programming from that.

I’d love to hear what other people using UE4 has to say on this matter. Cheers!

ed: Thank you all for the input :slight_smile: Very valuable

Make a small project
→ realize you have made huge mistakes (will happen!)
→ Start another small project
—> don’t make the same mistakes again
----> realize you have made new mistakes (will happen.)
→ repeat - start another small project without the old mistakes

That’s how it goes. There’s no way you can learn “everything” correctly at once.
If you try to notice and avoid old mistakes, you’ll learn new stuff with each new project you’re starting.

And read / write in this forum, i’ve learned alot through reading other people problems and how people are solving them.

Cheers!

e/ Also, like you’ve said, try to create “new” stuff with each project. Don’t do the same play style / game features all over again, try new stuff.
But keep it small!

I would consider myself “good” in terms of gameplay programming with the UE. But there’s not a single day i’m not learning anything new.