Best way to develop a lever puzzle system?

I’ve been using Unreal Engine for about 4 months now and I’ve started to learn blueprint scripting. I now understand there isnt’s a “correct” way to do things, maybe just a better way for each situation. After watching a lot of tutorials, I’m creating a small horror game inside a manor. I want to use a puzzle system to open a big door. Basically, I have 4 knight armors placed in the level and I want to have 4 levers that make each armor rotate 90º when used. The goal is to get each armor in a specific position, which will unlock the door.
I’d like for the levers and the armors to be separate objects so I can place them wherever i want.

If anyone has done something similar, I’d love to hear a simple explanation of it. Thanks in advance.

I now understand there isnt’s a
“correct” way to do things, maybe just
a better way for each situation.

Nicely put.

Basically, I have 4 knight armors
placed in the level and I want to have
4 levers that make each armor rotate
90º when used.

You could, sure; but you can still do it even if both elements are a part of the very same actor and it makes the communication much easier! For example:

This is my knight and its lever:

When I’m ready to move things around, I can:

• move the entire actor
  • move just the knight mesh
  • move just the lever

Image from Gyazo

This way, each lever is connected to the specific knight from the get-go.

Image from Gyazo

If you wanted each lever to be a separate actor, you could make it a Child Actor Component instead of a Static Mesh Component.

Alternatively,

• create a Lever Actor
  • create an Instance Editable Lever-Type variable in the Knight actor

• you can then connect what you need in the Level Blueprint:

Here, the yellow boxes are the lever actors and I hooked up the far right knight with the far-left lever:

Image from Gyazo

When it comes to counting and finding matching rotations, the approach would depend on the scope: