Best Way To Create Open World Terrain?

Hey guys,

I’m pretty new to UE4 (just switched from CryEngine, actually, I couldn’t make my terrain big enough) and I’m not exactly sure the best way to go about creating terrain for an open world game. I just want a simple sandy planet (just a desert with dunes, pretty much), but I can’t figure out how to go about that. Any height maps, etc, I try don’t seem to work. AND I have the terrain almost maxed out in UE, so it would take a very long time (given the max brush size) to do it manually.

That’s the other thing, if I could increase the brush size past 8196 then I wouldn’t even MIND doing it manually, it’s just so small in the map size.

Open to any suggestions you may have, as long as it isn’t World Machine. :stuck_out_tongue: I don’t have the money to spend on it, sadly.

Cheers,
Charlie

I would prefer do it in 3ds max or maya.

Yeah, but that’ll still take a lot of time for the terrain size. I was hoping there was just a bit of a quicker solution, but maybe not.

Everything if you want quick require money. World machine just a little bit money to me but does it really worth it to buy. I still no idea yet. You can also try Autodesk Mudbox. But it still need money. I will try to take the autodesk. does your mountain just for sightseeing or walk in ?

I was just about to say World Machine (Free to use and learn unless for commercial.) with the World/Level Editor to tile it all together and use level streaming and pre-computed visibility volumes.

Technically, you can have an infinite world size, but that’s another story.

If you wanna go berzerk in the editor, keep the components simple, try these methods.

Quick Unreal Engine 4 Cave Entrance Scene:

Quick Unreal Engine 4 Desert Scene: