Best way of setting up the animation of a dialogue heavy NPC?

I’m quite new to UE4, but I’m slowly getting the hang of using Blueprints and things like that.

I’m creating this game which has a character who has loads of dialogue animation (that will need to change both length and actual animation depending on what language has been chosen) as well as idle and movement animations. The different dialogues will be prompted by the player completing tasks within the game, but the character doesn’t interact with the player more than looking at him/her every now and then.

I don’t need a full explanation of exactly how to do this but if you could point me in the right direction that would be wonderful!

First, what do I use to set up the animation and sync it with the audio? I’ve read about Animation Montages. Is that the way to go?

And secondly, what’s the best way to swap out all the dialogue to different files when changing the language?

Thank you for the help!

Well which way to go should start with how complex the game play is going to be and how long the story line is, if there is a story line.

Does your game only need the simplicity of say a Mind Craft or the complexity of an Assassin’s Creed?

Does the animation need to be real time or cut scenes?

What type of facial animation do you wish to use? You could keep things simple using a talking mailbox, something low maintenance like cluster shaping, or something high maintenance using morph target?

Last what app will you be using to author animations?

Putting it together you could start with a ready made system like Dialogue Tree and Quest System in Blueprints - UE Marketplace

There are a couple so search around.

Personally I would not jump straight into making the game but do a few R&D projects.

It’s simpler than that! Sorry, I should have specified more clearly.