Best Practices and Workflow

Hello there, this is kind of a beginners thread, as im new to UE4 and game development altogether.
I have read many documentation articles and viewed video tutorials which is a great way to start, but i feel i am missing some basic knowledge here.

What im most interested now is to get the workflow right in game design, because i am getting to know the basic tools, but i have a feeling im not using them in the most convenient way.

So, maybe the most experienced users can share some of the general workflow and practices they use. I know everyone has their own way at dealing with things, but there must be tips and tricks that are convenient to use whatsoever. The kind of knowledge one gathers over the years of using any kind of tool.

Regardless of wether you are a programmer, artist, designer or “all in one guy”, what is your general workflow and specific practices to get a project working? Im sure it will help save a lot of time and energy for all who is just starting in game development.

Thanks for your time

Rule Number 1 for me is to first establish source control and asset chain.

Rule number 2 get it in UE4 based on functionality, in it just works, and then build up the bling through source control.

For example the perfect door will start out as a box primitive and in the storage folder I’ll have a source folder, for the Max source scene, and a FBX folder for the UE4 as part of the asset chain that is imported into UE4.

So the flow would be to modify and save the Max source and export to the FBX asset chain and the in UE4 do a re-import

Also not so much a rule a a MUST do is to establish you scaling right from the start. It’s not a fun time if you mess up the scale on a primary asset that requires redoing all of the scale work.