Best method for exporting custom character animations from Maya LT (2016)?

Hello everyone, I am new here (first post) - so apologies if this belongs in the AnswerHub rather then the forum. My background is 3 weeks learning Unreal, and I am on my third day trial with Maya LT 2016. I’d previously started looking at Blender, but other then that no real experience.

After spending a couple of days trying to figure out how to successfully export characters and animations from Maya LT, I finally achieved a way to accomplish the goal. Below is the method I used.

I am looking for some feedback on different approaches or a better way to do it. I feel like I found a way to get it to work, without really understanding why or how I got it working (other then trial and error).

Other questions:
-I get the warning: Complex animation baked. when exporting. Any ideas what this could be?
-Any links to good reference material you’ve found for best practices on importing assets/animations into Unreal Engine?

Maya LT 2016
Unreal Engine 4.10
Steps to create, rig, animate, and export Custom Animations
Character Creation Method

1. Create Character in Character Controls
  2. Setup Skeleton
  3. Drag skeleton to custom model and align
  4. In objects list, highlight both and use the skin tool to bind skin
  5. Select the character to export, export the selection to unreal
  6. Save File – a copy of this file will be made for each animation sequence
  7. When ready to make animation, make a copy of the original file, rename to desire animation sequence name
  8. In character controls, open up the control rig for the character (it will make a new character reference)
  9. Create animation
  10. Export character to unreal (delete duplicate physical asset and skeleton mesh, keep animation)

Did you export the entire character with controls, constraints and referenced nodes?