Beginner with UE, Introduction and Questions.

Hello,

I am rather new to the Unreal Engine. I have used it to mod a little with another game I play, but seeing the capabilities of the engine has put that desire deep inside to build my own project.
I have a general Idea of what most my project will entail but I have a few questions. I use to script/mod a very old game, so I have a little knowledge but like I said, it was old and things don’t really seem to work the same way in this engine. I have watched countless tutorial videos, and while all of them I have done quiet well with reproducing what the tutorial was for, it seems there is always a ‘better way’ to do things. While I know that I will slowly work out the kinks in several areas and find what works best, there are a few things I could use a little bit of help getting started with.

First off. This is my first real ‘from the ground up’ project. As such, I am trying to build everything with a 0 cost. First project, isn’t going to be huge, kinda like a demo…basically just so I can start then learn to fix and improve aspects. I want to have it as a small multiplayer rpg type game…Nothing to amazing, but I need to start somewhere.

So this is what I would like to know, if someone would be so kind to point me in the right direction (Sometimes what I search for in the forum, doesn’t seem to be the right wording of what Im trying to find?). Of course, I know a lot of this stuff needs to be done in a certain order to make things work right, and I realize not every explanation will include all the possible problems with another section i am trying to implement.

(1)Small Multiplayer abilities. 1 to 8 players at most (For right now) The ability for a player to join the server and jump right into the action.

(2)Character Customization - Doesn’t have to be extravagant, but would like to have a little customization. Body size, Different head(Face expression), Hair and color.