Beginner Questions - Where Do I Start? (Blender + UE4 + Substance Painter 2)

Hello everyone.

This is my first post here and I am a complete beginner with C++, Unreal Engine, Blender 3D, and Substance Painter 2. Really hoping you guys with more experience could help me be successful.

I am trying to make sense of everything, namely how all three of these should work together to make an FPS solo project. There is a rather high learning curve for all of these programs and I do not want to waste time learning all of them if I do not have to. Here are some questions that have come across my mind that I would like answered to give me a better idea of where I need to start…

1. What are the strengths and uses for each program? Is there a reason to use Blender for some things over UE4? Is it better to use Blender for content creation like meshes and various assets and characters, and use Unreal solely for map design? Or vice versa?
  2. So for example, would I be able to get away with making my game ENTIRELY in Unreal and skip importing things? If so would it still be better to use Blender and Substance Painter 2 to make things easier?
  3. I heard it’s hard to export Blender assets to Unreal because they lose textures, etc. so should I just focus on making everything in Unreal?
  4. Should I use my time first getting good at making 3D objects/ meshes or would it be better to learn how Unreal game logic/ code/ blueprints work?

I am lost and overwhelmed; not sure where to begin. I guess my question is which program is best for making the various parts of the game? If I can scrap Blender and focus on UE4 and SP2 only, that would be ideal. Please enlighten me, I am an open book eager to learn and start creating content.

Typically, the way things go is this: