Beginner indie Virtual Production budget PC spec

Hi, I’m a filmmaking student who are interested to do a inde-scale virtual production project.

We are currently running UE with the following spec:
Ryzen 5 CPU
8GB RAM
GTX 1060 6GB

We know these are not ideal spec as this is what we currently have right now, and it crashes alot definitely.

Hence, we are trying to get serious into making a pc solely for VP but with budget constraints. We are trying to achieve Richard Frentzen setup (In depth Tutorial - Virtual Production with Unreal Engine and HTC Vive - YouTube)

We are not a pc expert. We hope we could get some insight on how to build our PC for this.
We looked at the documentation from this link: Linux Game Development in Unreal Engine | Unreal Engine 5.1 Documentation
and we wanted to get a GTX 2080 Ti for this but we can’t settle down on the decision to get a better GPU or CPU actually. If we based on the documentation from the link above, at the very bottom page, you will see that they wrote XEON processor used in epic games PC. We definitely have no budget to get another XEON processor if we were to proceed with GTX 2080 Ti.

Would anyone mind giving us some enlightenment on a budget PC build to run VP?

and it crashes alot definitely.

Apart from overall system instability, I’d attribute it to that 8GB RAM which is low. 16 is OK, 32 should be fine for a while.

budget PC spec

This is budget: Ryzen 5 CPU 8GB RAM GTX 1060 6GB | This is not: GTX 2080 Ti as it costs as much as a entire mid-range PC…

For a somewhat budget but still future-proof build you could opt for a setup along the lines of:

• $ R5 3600X + GeForce 1060 (or AMD equivalent) + 16GB RAM

• $$ R7 3700X + GeForce 2060 + 32GB RAM

• $$$ R9 3900x + GeForce 2070 + 64GB RAM

Generally speaking a good CPU + RAM will be more important than a good GPU during development.