! before a function

Hello, I’m following a tutorial on the EQS system here:

My issue is with the following part of a script:

void AMyAIController::OnPerceptionUpdated(TArray<AActor*> UpdatedActors)
{
	//If our character exists inside the UpdatedActors array, register him
	//to our blackboard component

for (AActor* Actor : UpdatedActors)
	{
		if (Actor->IsA<AEqsTutCharacter>() && !GetSeeingPawn())
		{
			BlackboardComp->SetValueAsObject(BlackboardEnemyKey, Actor);
			return;
		}
	}

//The character doesn't exist in our updated actors - so make sure
	//to delete any previous reference of him from the blackboard
	BlackboardComp->SetValueAsObject(BlackboardEnemyKey, nullptr);
}

AActor* AMyAIController::GetSeeingPawn()
{
	//Return the seeing pawn
	UObject* object = BlackboardComp->GetValueAsObject(BlackboardEnemyKey);

return object ?  Cast<AActor>(object) : nullptr;
}

I’m quite new to C++ and I’m having trouble figuring out what’s going on here. To me, it looks like GetSeeingPawn() checks to see if the Blackboard key is storing an object, and if it is storing a valid object, it tries to cast that to an AActor class, or otherwise it returns nullptr.

However, I’m not really sure what " && !GetSeeingPawn()" would mean. As I currently imagine it, this is equivalent to, “&& GetSeeingPawn == nullptr”. So the whole “if” statement is saying, “if the actor is this particular type of character, and the Blackboard key is empty, assign this actor to the Blackboard key”.

However, I don’t understand the following line, because if GetSeeingPawn() doesn’t return a nullptr (i.e. if there’s something stored there already), we fail to assign anything to the key, and we fail to return, and instead we just move out of the “for” loop and go on to set whatever was in there to nullptr. That would seem bad to me, as we’d be setting the Blackboard Key to nullptr every second time we ran OnPerceptionUpdated.

I feel like I’m misunderstanding something, but I’m not sure what.