Been working on this exploration game for a year - Shape of the World

Hey guys! Long time lurker, this is my first post on the forums and i’m stoked to finally break the seal!

I wanted to show you Shape of the World, an exploration game I’ve been building for a year. I’ve been blogging screenshots and concepts and only just released the first teaser trailer:

https://youtube.com/watch?v=gsqPkvMpum0

By day, I’m an FX artist at Black Tusk Studios making explosions and gore. By night, I make nature grow. In this game, nature grows around the player as they explore, going from spot to spot erecting permanent landmarks.

It started with some concept art. I was taking bike rides through Stanley Park in Vancouver, Canada and making regular trips around the West Coast.

And progressed to this in Unreal:

Let me lay out what’s going on under the hood. it starts with a hand-sculpted Landscape onto which sit additional meshes for rocks, and i have spline blueprints carving paths and streams across the world. All the trees and bushes are spawned procedurally in front of the player, using a sequence of “recipes” I structured in an array of custom structs. There is no custom code, only a ton of Blueprints. (I’d love to know what you think about that. I think it’s pretty **** cool - I’m an FX artist but magically I can teach myself scripting and make an entire game. On the other hand, I’ve got a smaller budget on the CPU, I believe.)

There are recipes for the color palettes and atmosphere, which are progressed through in sequence with each major game event. All of the materials are unlit and unfogged, with fog controlled on a per-material basis, though the fog can be tuned globally for each weather condition. I use Material Collection Parameters for everything. The materials have a custom, very tunable displacement setup, where I can lerp between each tree’s hidden and visible states, causing them to grow and shrink. Bushes are simply particle systems.