Basic Questions from a Newbie - How big is a project and is UE4 right for me?

I am not a programmer, but I am interested in getting programmers to build accident reconstruction videos. Unfortunately, I have absolutely know idea how much time it would take to make the videos. I also don’t know whether UE4 is a good solution. If I hire someone, I would

Here is an example of what someone else have done, though I have no idea of what software they used: Example Clip

1. Any idea on how many man hours it might take to build something this this? Are we talking 50 hours? 100? 500? 1000?

2. Also, is UE4 an ok solution to build something like this? The location, acceleration, speed and details of the impact are already determined, so I don’t think I need the engine to react on the fly like we would in a video game (unless i am wrong and don’t understand the way things work, which is very possible.)

I would really appreciate any thoughts you have on the subject.

1. Honestly that’s probably going to come down to the individual programmer (or team), but keep in mind you’ll either have to buy 3D assets for them to work with, or hire additional people to create those, which would add to cost and time.
  2. UE4 is used for non-gaming purposes all the time, and it should work fine for simulations like that. I wouldn’t leave the physics engine to it’s own devices if you want to have a reliable simulation however.

I’ll make a quick hypothetical breakdown if I where to work on something like this. For the Vehicles and the Person id suggest buying the assets before as it would save tons of time and money. Going to go with 8 hour work days for simplicity sake.

Day 1 - Source textures, scene blockout, create asset list, model any assets we may not already have (bushes, street lamps, helmet), prepare and Import into UE4