Basic pawn movement questions!

Hi, new to UE4 but very much enjoying it so far.

I’m simply trying to get my head around creating a controllable flying pawn with 6 degrees of freedom using blueprints. I’ve gone through Epic’s Six-DOF Flying pawn tutorial: (https://wiki.unrealengine.com/Blueprint_Six-DOF_Flying_Pawn_Tutorial).

The tutorial works perfectly, but I have a few total beginner questions about the results. It works but I want to understand why. I have virtually no programming experience, nor do I have any experience with vectors so i’m a bit up against it learning curve wise. Any help with increasing my understanding of any of these points would be greatly appreciated.

First things first. Using the tutorial, I have arrived at the following (see image) to move the pawn forwards and backwards, and left and right based on the left stick input.

So…

1.) Why am I using “Get Actor Rotation”. Should I not be getting the movement of the actor before adding further force in that direction or is that what the “Get forward Vector” does?

2.) I have no real understanding of Vectors but i’m guessing that the “Get Forward Vector” function is capturing the pawns movement through a set 2D plane, (hence get forward/right/up vector for different planes) Is this correct?

3.) The Input Axis value from the left stick is being fed in to a “Float*Float” I assume this is taking the input and multiplying it by the second, giving me a new greater or lesser value to feed to the next component in the blue print. But why are we multiplying and not adding say? And how does this cause acceleration? Is it performing this function every frame etc? If so, how does it know when to stop, why does the pawn seem to have a maximum speed?